From Creative Block to Breakthrough: My Design Evolution

From Vision to Victory: How 100 Weeks of Moodboards Redefined My Design Journey

Wassup creatives,

I want to take you back to a crucial turning point in my design journey. Not too long ago, I was stuck in a rut, fixated on the "what" of my creations without grasping the essential "why." This phase was challenging, pushing me to reevaluate and ultimately transform my approach to design.

For a long time, my design philosophy was all about aesthetics—creating visuals that catch the eye on the first look. However, I soon realized this approach was superficial. My designs, though visually appealing, lacked a deeper narrative and purpose. This epiphany was a wake-up call, prompting me to shift gears. In short, I tunnel visioned on an execution that had flawed preparation.

I adopted a weekly practice of crafting moodboards, but it wasn't just about compiling inspirations. It was a methodical exploration of the narratives, emotions, and philosophies that each visual element represented. This wasn't merely an exercise; it became a transformative process that reshaped how I viewed and approached design. More than just enhancing aesthetics, it was about embedding each project with intention and depth, making my work resonate on a more profound level.

This shift in perspective didn't just change how I approached design; it revolutionized it. By focusing on the "why" behind the "what," I began to create designs that were not only visually compelling but also rich in story and purpose. This journey from a surface-level focus to a deeper, more meaningful approach has been nothing short of amazing.

So now what….

Crafting Narratives with Moodboards

Over 100 weeks, moodboards became my creative bible. This shift allowed me to move from designing what "looks cool" to creating with a clear objective and narrative. Each design choice rooted in a specific purpose, aiming to convey certain emotions, stories, and values.

This practice honed my creative reasoning beyond just art and design. It simplified conveying a unified message through social posts, partnership activations, or even transferring concepts to other art forms like motion or illustrations.

It also changed how I viewed others' art, encouraging me to look beyond face value and understand the choices behind each piece. This led to recognizing patterns not just as fleeting trends, but as deep-seated expressions that define the soul of each creation. (Maybe haha, not everyone over-thinks it)

A Milestone Project

My moodboard journey hit a moment of “thank the Adobe gods for this inspiration.” Here's where the true power of those 100 weeks of moodboarding shone through. The project? [REDACTED]. You thought I could share...

Okay, but what I can say is that it was a brand envisioned for the future. And my moodboards? They transcended compiling attractive visuals; they were about weaving a diverse fabric of potentials, each moodboard a portal to possibilities I hadn't had the luxury of imagining before. Gone were the days of relying solely on what I knew at the moment. With each moodboard, I moved further from my biases, crafting a vision so aligned with the client's expectations, it felt like we were sharing the same dreams. This project wasn’t just about meeting deliverables; it marked the moment my design approach matured from focusing on mere aesthetics to creating narratives charged with intention, foresight, and a profound understanding of purpose.

You’re probably wondering, “Well, what did the moodboards do in that scenario?”

Looking back, it seems straightforward, but two years ago, I might never have considered it. I initiated our conversation with that future-focused brand with 4 boards titled “Defining the future.” These boards presented four distinct visions of the future: one of neo-pop and bright colors, another stark, clean, and “blank” as if stepping into Tony Stark's home, a third mechanical with exposed hardware, and the last exploring chromatic aberrations and blurs.

Simi-altered similar boards to what was showcased.

These were all unique interpretations of what “the future” could look like, challenging the conventional. Often, new designers or aspiring art directors might not take the time for even the most basic step—one you thought you understood. Yet, you might have overlooked it, not fully exploring all options visually. Here's where moodboards prove invaluable.

Impact and Influence

Becoming Art Director at NRG, the insights from my moodboard journey have deeply influenced not just my work but our collective creative process. It's about creating a culture where design transcends aesthetics, serving as a narrative tool that connects, communicates, and resonates. Don’t get me wrong either, making sure things look good is still very important haha.

For those navigating the complex world of design, finding your creative 'why' is a journey worth taking on. Let moodboards guide you, not just as inspiration collections but as frameworks for deeper understanding and intentional creation. They're the bedrock for building narratives, forecasting trends, and realizing visions.

I really do mean it— I’ve never felt more confident in design. I just want that feeling to be known for many aspiring artists and directors.

Appreciate you all and go build a board. <3

Everything Pack:

If you’re ever finding yourself with moments needed where you need an extra creative push—

 “The Everything Pack” becomes your right hand toolkit for the rest of your design career— no matter the education preference.

It’s hard to keep at with trends, but I’ve made it a mission to supply everyone who owns this with a bright future in asset assistance.

All my current design packs (28 of them) + future Sellfy products emailed, FREE. Additionally, access to an exclusive 2,000+ member discord filled with people ready to share advice, critiques and build a network.

Check it out - https://sesohq.sellfy.store/p/nfuf