How to Navigate "No" in Design

How to Navigate the Landscape
of "No" in Design

Hey!

I’m diving into a topic that hits close to home for many of us – the inevitable "no" we face in our journey.

Personal Struggles and Triumphs

Starting out, my path wasn’t rosy. From dark designs owing to a less-than-ideal display to tutorials criticized for their pace, I've faced rejection from all corners. But one experience stands out. Landing a part-time job at a prominent organization, I spent nights ideating for upcoming events, only to hear: “this isn’t what we’re looking for.” It wasn’t a critique of my ability but a mismatch with their branding. And guess what? Months later, those same concepts won praise in another job interview that I later also secured.

Art is subjective, and for every "no," ten "yeses" await. It's all about perspective.

Navigating Client Conversations

I’ve often been asked how to avoid the dreaded "no" from potential clients. The trick? Communication.

Instead of immediately asking about the budget, engage them. Express genuine interest in their problem. Does this ring a bell?

Potential client: Hey! I love your work, I need a design done, can you help?
Bad response: Hey, yes I can help, what’s your budget?

Like when I get a message, “Hey, are you available for work?”, my first response leans towards understanding the project. Suggesting a call, understanding the brief, and discussing the mood can work wonders. This dialogue ensures clarity on both sides, setting a clear foundation for the project.

Potential client: Hey, are you available for work! I have a project I will need assistance with.

Me: Hey ____! It would be a pleasure to see what you have in mind and if I’d be able to handle it for you. Can I ask a few questions? Better yet, if you have time I’d love to even hop in a call!

Remember, not every potential client should become one. Gauge fitment, understand the scope, and if it doesn't align, recommend someone else. This not only upholds your brand's integrity but also helps foster connections. When its time to ask the questions, call or not, they can go as followed for starters -

Q1: Is there a brief you can send over or we can walk-through so I can understand the project a bit more?

Q2: Do we - (see how I used the word we and not you) Do we have any key objective words we can follow and if not could we maybe come up with some that best align with your vision?

Setup questions that ignite your research and development before you put pixel to photoshop or vectors to illustrator.

Stepping into the Industry: Newer Creatives and Rejection

For newer creatives entering the scene—whether through internships, job applications, or the quest for mentorships—a few words can define much of the early experience: They didn’t respond.

Often, the persons seeking mentorships boils down to a simple act: reaching out. Many take the cold-email approach, firing off LinkedIn messages like, “Hey, would love to connect and discuss how you started.” While maybe wanted, this doesn’t truly convey a readiness to learn. Similarly, I am also getting questions like, “Hey! How can I better market myself as a designer?”. This lands in my inbox nearly 40 times each month. To these questions, it doesn’t scream “I’m ready to be taught.” Being teachable doesn’t just mean you’re eager to ask questions. It means you’re ready to ask the right ones—those that are goal-driven and quantifiable.

Here is some examples:

1. Bad question:

"Hey Seso, how can I market myself better as a designer? I’m on Twitter and I get the likes, but no pushes with potential clients."

Flaws: It’s too random. From the sidelines, it seems there isn’t a concrete strategy in place, making it difficult to pinpoint where things might be going wrong. This sort of question is broad and lacks focus.

2. Better question:

"Hey Seso! I've been actively posting on Twitter, sharing my resources, and the audience seems to resonate with it. However, this engagement doesn’t translate into client interactions. I’ve attempted to drive leads from these engagements by interacting and asking questions, but there doesn’t seem to be a demand for my design work."

Strengths: Now, here’s a question ready for a constructive response. With a detailed background, I can suggest, “Have you thought about presenting your work in a manner that not only showcases your designs but also highlights your personal resources? By doing so, you underline your design abilities and simultaneously market the tangible benefits of using your resources. Overall making you more personable and trustworthy”.

In the previous scenario, the question doesn’t leave me grappling to a tailor-made solution. But now, they’ve showcased the resilience in their efforts and pinpointed a specific issue. It’s evident: they're ready to be taught.

Embracing the Power of "No"

Remember, every "no" is a stepping stone, a learning opportunity. Embrace it, grow from it, and let it propel you towards your next "yes." There is no lasting impact from hearing no from that new client you wanted. It’s not always going to be your skill when asking others for mentorships or a internship, it can be your approach. And if anyone hates on your art publicly to the point you feel like what they say is true, ignore them. It’s that simple. Most of the time it comes from jealousy, confusion, or they’re just not meant to get it. Improvements when your just starting will happen naturally, things will click that once never did. Don’t let people take away the potential you have to share your creative narrative to the rest of the world.

Keep creating,
Seso.

If you ever need assistance directly by my assets and what I use everyday -
Check out my design product “The Everything Pack”

All my current design packs (25 of them) + future Sellfy products emailed, FREE.

Check it out - https://sesohq.sellfy.store/p/nfuf/

Check out some of our Everything Pack owners words.

Was this content helpful? IM TRYING I SWEAR

I've been enjoying writing, but lmk..

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.